search button
newscenter logo
Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Follow SDSU  Follow SDSU on Twitter Follow SDSU on Facebook Follow SDSU on Google+ SDSU RSS Feed

Tony Gwynn Stadium Tony Gwynn Stadium

SDSU to Host MW Baseball Tournament

The tournament begins Thursday, May 24.
By GoAztecs

2018 MW Championship Bracket
Tournament Central Homepage

The bracket for the 2018 Mountain West Baseball Championship hosted at San Diego State University’s Tony Gwynn Stadium is set, and will consist of No. 1 seed Nevada, No. 2 seed SDSU, No. 3 seed San Jose State, and No. 4 seed UNLV. The tournament, which runs May 24-27, is a four-team double-elimination bracket.

Nevada and UNLV will play the first game of the tournament, with the in-state rivals battling at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 24. SDSU will face San Jose State in the nightcap, scheduled to begin at 6 p.m. on Thursday.

Tony Gwynn Stadium will host two games each day on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Both Friday and Saturday will start with loser-bracket contests at 1:30 p.m. Sunday will host an if-necessary championship game at 1 p.m. All games will be broadcasted on the Mountain West Network.

All session-passes are $40 for adults and $30 for youth and students with valid ID. Single-session tickets are $15 for adults and $12 for youth and students with valid ID.

Tickets can be purchased over the phone by calling the Aztec Athletic Ticket Office at 619-283-SDSU (7378), in person at SDCCU Stadium Window E (open Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.), or online at SDSU’s Ticketmaster page. All tickets for the Mountain West Baseball Tournament are general admission.

SDSU, winners of four of the last five Mountain West Championships, is the tournament's No. 2 seed for the third time in the last four years. SDSU enters the 2018 championships 20-6 in MW Tournament games since 2013.

2018 Mountain West Baseball Championship
Tony Gwynn Stadium, San Diego, California
Thursday, May 24
Game No. 1 – No. 4 UNLV vs. No. 1 Nevada, 1:30 p.m. PT
Game No. 2 – No. 3 San José State at No. 2 San Diego State, 6 p.m. PT
Friday, May 25
Game No. 3 – Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2, 1:30 p.m. PT
Game No. 4 – Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2, 6 p.m. PT
Saturday, May 26
Game No. 5 - Winner of Game 3 vs. Loser of Game 4, 1:30 p.m. PT
Game No. 6 - Winner of Game 4 vs. Winner of Game 6, 6 p.m. PT
Sunday, May 27
If Necessary Championship Game - 1 p.m. PT